Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
new_bee

ACK! Bugs are decimating my eggplant leaves!

new_bee
14 years ago

Little, tiny black beetle-looking bug are eating my eggplant leaves to death. When they first appeared, I simply flicked or washed them off. We have a very rainy week and I didn't make it out there... the next time I went to check on my garden, the leaves were almost transparent! This is my first attempt at a veggie garden so I have no idea what they are. Any suggestions?

Comments (18)

• justaguy2
    14 years ago

Google flea beetle. See if that is it. Typically they don't make the leaves transparent, but leave holes resembling a shotgun being blasted at the leaves.

• denno
    14 years ago

Most of us had the same problem with egg plant, or squash, melons, etc. Invest in the lightweight row cover which will keep the flying insects off the plants. Once the plants have grown to where the flowers are open for pollination, remove the covers.

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago

Floating Row Covers ned to be in place before there is a problem but once you see the damage done by Flea Beetles you can try to control them with Insecticidal Soap and the rising up the toxicity ladder there is Neem Oil products followed by pyrethins.

• marymd7
    14 years ago

I learned the hard way over the years that eggplants must be row covered for the first month or so in the ground to give them a change to get big enough to withstand the early bugs. Flea beetles are bad. Colorado potato beetles will also decimate eggplants, as will those evil margined blister beetles. So, the minute I put the things in the ground, I mulch heavily around them and cover with row cover.

I've actually found DE to be very effective on flea beetles. You need to dust just about daily with it, but if you do for a week or so you typically can get the FBs under control.

• Dan _Staley (5b Sunset 2B AHS 7)
    14 years ago