Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowerchild3

Is Jerry Baker Legit?

flowerchild3
18 years ago

I was just wondring if Jerry Baker's tonics really work. Also, are they organic? This may sound like a dumb question but I get confused sometimes about what are chemicals and what are organic sources. Synthetic fertilizers like Miracle Grow aren't organic right? I just got Jerry Baker's book from the library and was wanting to try a few things. I'm really wanting to keep things organic, thrifty and simple.

Also, I'm confused about fertilizing my garden. If I add compost to everything each year will that be enough? Is there a really simple approach I can use to feeding my plants? I really love gardeinging but I want to keep it as simple as possible.

Thanks for the help. I'm new to gardening and I'm always loaded with questions! I figured if I read up on gardening enough I would get it all down but I feel like the more I learn, the MORE I need to learn. : )

~Flowerchild3

Comments (48)

• bigeasyjock
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Fertilizers are a way of ramping up the activity of the soil microbes. Think of fertilizers as nitro that is used in race cars. Once you increase the activity of the micorbes they feed and bred at a very high rate. The problem with fertilizers comes from fact that those microbes are also eatting your soil 'out of house and home! In other words after this increased population of microbes consume the nutrients in the fertilizer they start on those nutrients in the soil and with a large population consume those soil nutrients fast! Once the nutrients are used up a population crash occurs and you are left with poor soil.
    So you simply use more fertilizers right? Sure and the same cycle occurs but with even greater soil nutrient lose.