Return to the Organic Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Organic Newbie Seeks Advice

Posted by tcleigh 7 (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 26, 11 at 21:37

Greetings, organic gardeners!

I am a relatively experienced gardener, but I am new to organic gardening. I came to it today by accident, actually, when I was fortuitously offered a coveted plot in an organic community garden. The plot needs a lot of weed removal, but I hope to plant it with various greens, beets, carrots, etc. in the next few days.

My question is simple: What are the organic fertilizing basics I should know as I embark on this project?

I don't have compost yet, or anything really, and I've been told to view mass-marketed organic ferts with suspicion.

So, what are some simple things I can do to enrich the soil in my plot? Coffee grounds? Egg shells? Seaweed? Fish emulsion?

Please help a burgeoning organic gardener get started!!

Muchas gracias!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Organic Newbie Seeks Advice

• Posted by SoTX 8b/9a (My Page) on
    Sat, Aug 27, 11 at 5:11

Everything you mentioned is good. Don't pull the weeds--plant into them & mulch with what you can get. With no idea of size or how you plant, it's hard to give much info. I do intensive beds rather than waste space with rows. Good luck.

o

Those "weeds" contain valuable nutrients that could feed the soil. The basics of organic gardening are to feed the soil which in turn feeds the plants. Add enough organic matter to the soil so that soil is good and healthy so it will grow strong and healthy plants that are less susceptible to insect pests and plant diseases. Along with a good reliable soil test from a good soil test lab, maybe your states Cooperative Extension Service, these simple soil tests may be of some help.