Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
leigh_va

Yellow jacket nest in herbs

leigh_va
17 years ago

In my attempts to clean up my herb bed, I unfortunately came across a yellow jacket nest. Luckily only one sting but 3 days later, my elbow is still swollen, hot, red and itchy. Need to get rid of them but they are directly beneath my rosemary plant so I don't want to kill it off and poison the soil.

My husband has offered to do what needs to be done but I just don't know what that is. I have 3 small children and this is right outside the door so I need to get it taken care of as soon as possible.

I've heard that it is better to take care of things at night. Is that true? Your advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Comments (13)

• russh_nepa
    17 years ago

I'm no expert, but I do have a fair amount of experience with these guys.

In your situation I would probably try to smother them out. Rather than go at them in a direct assault, I would get something that they can't chew through (metal window screen would be ideal), and at night CAREFULLY lay it over the opening and surrounding foot or two (the more the better). Weight it down COMPLETELY so no way they can get out.

Most nests only have one opening, and while they can dig (obviously) I have never had them dig a couple of feet sideways. With no escape the nest will disappear, with no risk to your children.

No guarentees, but also no harm to try this approach.

• leigh_va
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks for your response. While it sounds good on paper, there is no way to get something flat to the ground around it. It is in the middle of my herb bed, 5 inches from the base of my rosemary plant and surrounded by dead stems (which is why I was cleaning up the area) and live stems of oregano, tyme, mint and such. I could drop a cement block over it, I think (or that would be my husband who would do that). It would probably be heavy enough to weigh down the stems enough to eliminate an easy escape.