Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
justine66_gw

Aphids are wreaking havoc on my cucumbers and melons

Justine66
12 years ago

I have tried spraying my plants with water and spraying the back sides with a mixture of Dr Bronner's peppermint soap and water, but I can't get rid of the aphids and they are destroying my plants. (This battle has been going on for weeks.) I don't want to use anything that will harm beneficial insects. Does anyone have any suggestions? I am new to this. This is my second season with a garden and first season with cucs and melon. I'm about to give up on the melon plants because they looks so bad. The cucumbers are just starting to wilt w/ aphid infestation.

Thank you in advance for your reply.

Regards,

Justine

Comments (12)

• beeman_gardener
    12 years ago

Only thing I use is Activated Compost tea, works a treat on ALL bugs.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    12 years ago

Have you tried commercial insecticidal soap? The problem with the homemade stuff is that you really don't know how much to use. Too little or too much....not good. Another thing that GREATLY affects the efficacy of insecticidal soap (including homemade brews) is the pH of the water. This product works much better in a slightly acid range, worth putting a little bit of vinegar in the mixing water to test it. Do you know what the pH of your water is?

Adding 1 T. of plain vinegar (white) per gallon of water would be a good start and absolutely not cause any harm.

Are you using a strong enough water spray? It should be strong enough to knock aphids off without damaging the foliage.

• Justine66
    Original Author
    12 years ago