Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtnrunner_gw

Bugs/Worms in my Swiss Chard

mtnrunner
15 years ago

I'm new to gardening and trying to learn how to control pests without using harmful chemicals. My Swiss Chard has some small bugs or worms that are getting inside the leaves. What can I due to get rid of these bugs? Is there any one solution that will take care of most bugs? I had a problem with aphids earlier this summer.

Thanks, Jeff

Comments (4)

• organicguy
    15 years ago

They sound like "leaf miners" which seem to love spinach and chard. Pick off the worst leaves and spray with Rotonone. That should rid you of them. At the first sign of a repeat invasion, repeat spraying. Enjoy the chard!

Ron
    The Garden Guy
    http://www.TheGardenGuy.org
    Check Out My Blog!

• jean001
    15 years ago

Instead of spraying, I'd suggest daily rounds of the plants, then either squish new damage or immediately remove and use/eat the leaves, trimming out the extra protein.

If you do spray, follow the directions exactly as to how strong to mix it and how long to wait between treatment and harvest.

(Because I'm not familiar with uses for rotenone, I looked it up via google. The label lists various veggies but none where you eat the leaves.)

For next year, you can avoid spraying if you plant in a different spot, then immediately loosely blouse row cover over the seedlings/transplants, securing the edges with soil or boards.

The reason to avoid planting in this same bed is because part of the life cycle is in the soil.

• Kimmsr
    15 years ago