Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pbl_ge

Let's talk about ashes

pbl_ge
12 years ago

So I'm new to the northerly country, and it appears as though we'll be building a lot of fires this winter. Interwebs provide conflicting reports on ashes in the garden. What do you all think? Wood is almost all maple. Soil is alkaline.

Thanks!

Comments (16)

• jean001a
    12 years ago

If soil is alkaline, wood ashes make it more so. Don't use in the garden. Or lawn. Or hedge. Or ...

• jean001a
    12 years ago

For info about growing in your new-to-you place, contact your county's Extension Service office. Many have hotline manned by Master Gardeners who know what to do locally.

Find your county's office with this map
    http://www.csrees.usda.gov/Extension/

Here is a link that might be useful: locate your county's Extension Service office

• Kimmsr
    12 years ago

Wood ash is primarily Calcium Carbonate which will help reduce the free radical Hydrogen ions in your soil and raise the soils pH. Most all knowledgeable places will tell you to have your soils pH tested before adding any wood ash to that soil.

Here is a link that might be useful: About wood ash

• albert_135   39.17°N 119.76°W 4695ft.
    12 years ago

Cornell has a pdf on Effect of Wood Ashes on Garden Soil.

(It has slipped my mind on how to link to a pdf.
    Google exact phrase "Effect of Wood Ashes on Garden Soil".

Here is a link that might be useful: Try this link

• myluck
    12 years ago

I'm trying ashes in my vegetable garden (Indiana, heavy clay, ph 7 )At a rate of one large coffee can per 100sq.ft.. Works out about the same as a 5 gal bucket per 1000 sq.ft.. At that rate the ph hasn't changed in 3 yrs. and it appears to help loosen the clay up. I'm trying to raise the potassium, magnesium,trace mineral, levels in the garden. hopefully the link will help you.

Here is a link that might be useful: university of Conn.

• rosiew
    12 years ago