Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
themastergardener1

Keeping deer away

TheMasterGardener1
12 years ago

How do you keep deer and other animals out of your garden without using a fence. Does the pepper solutions work well?

Has anyone had results with egg spray?

Any other methods? I would like to know. Thanks.

Comments (16)

• Kimmsr
    12 years ago

I don't seem to have a problen with deer, turkeys yes. Much of what I read indicates the commercial repellents are not very good, and one article some time back indicated a gardener needed to switch products periodically. However, in looking for that article I found the one linked below that may be of some help.

Here is a link that might be useful: Deer repellent

• pnbrown
    12 years ago

Nothing has worked for me or anyone else I know, other than high strong fence. I'm getting set to enfence an acre by springtime.

• oldmainer
    12 years ago

I agree with the above about fencing. I have been gardening for many years and tried many products and found they don't work all that well or for long. One bambi...or a bunch of them will wreck your garden in one night so go with a good fence. I use the seven foot tall plastic deer fence and havn't had a bambi jump it yet. Franklin

• TheMasterGardener1
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Last year I got away with out my peppers getting eaten. I used a little liquid fence but not much. I hope I am as lucky this year because I want to make more rows of peppers, I just hope the one year I deside to make a larger garden isn't when they deside attack!!

I planted the peppers last year just thinking they wher going to be eaten but they never did. I hope its not the other way around. The area I am making this garden is in an area I cant make fence so I hope I find something, thanks everyone.

Thanks Kimmsr for the link.

• robertz6
    12 years ago