Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluewaterers

red leaves on blueberry shrubs

bluewaterers
13 years ago

I bought 2 new bluebeey shrubs from the local nursury and One has beutiful red leaves all over and the other was green but turning redish brown and has some yellow leaves on it. My question is are my plants ok as it is winter time. what ist the best soil ph digital device I can buy for cheap. I have another more mature blueberry plant that is roughly 3 1/2 feet high and it now is getting brown rust in the middle of many leaves. do you think the new plants infected the old more mature one. I cant be happy unless my prized plants are happy too. i use plain tap here in san diego ca.

Comments (4)

• johnnyrazbrix
    13 years ago

bluewaterers
    It looks like you are from California so I may not be able to help you. If you are growing the Southern Blueberries I have no knowledge. If you are growing the northern high or low bush blueberries maybe I can.
    There are several varieties of BB that have beatiful fall foilage. It is a blend of rust color and brilliant slightly purplish red. Some varieties more than others.Where i am at in michigan this color would have started around the end of september and lasted about 6 weeks. this depends some what on weather conditions but is mostly tied to day lengths.I used a ph tester called Rapid Test.
    I would not presume to diagnose what might be your problem or lack of a problem.There are many possibilities.Poor drainage , causing a fungus commonly known as root rot is one among many. Hope this helps. Johnny

• ericwi
    13 years ago