Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
weed_whackin

any websites that tell you when to take action?

weed_whackin
13 years ago

I like working in the yard but I'm not too good at "doing the right thing at the right time"...would be nice to find a site that leads me in the right direction.

Comments (5)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    13 years ago

You ought to visit your local bookstore and grab a copy of "Month by Month Gardening in Georgia". I think there's an edition for every state, written by experts from the region. You could probably find an edition on line, too.

A quickie search for seasonal gardening calenders resulted in finding Walter Reeves' website. I think you'll find that it just what you are looking for. And don't forget to make friends with your local extension office, too.

Here is a link that might be useful: Seasonal Gardening for Georgia

• coconut_nj
    13 years ago

Hi Weed. Garden Web has specific forums for many states and one is the Georgia Gardener. They also have forums for regions. The Georgia forum looks to have some traffic right now so should be worth checking out with any questions.

Here is a link that might be useful: Georgia Gardening Forum

• meldy_nva
    13 years ago

I'd also suggest starting your own calendar or notebook with dividers for each week. Note the date/weather and what you need to do as well as what you actually did accomplish. Noting natural events such as the lilac/forsythia/crocus blooming can be a big help in following years to judge when spring has sprung. In just a couple years you'll have a useful reference that applies to your specific locale.

• rob333 (zone 7b)
    13 years ago