Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
epic93

Making a Gardening App. A question...

epic93
12 years ago

I'm a developer, and a gardener, so I figured I should combine my hobbies for a moment and make a (drumroll...) garden calander app.

It'll run on Windows, Mac, Linux, and eventually, Android.

But I want this to be useful for everyone, not just me. So...

What would you like it to do?

Comments (6)

• rob333 (zone 7b)
    12 years ago

I'm not sure I catch your drift. Do you mean it would remind people when to plant, prune, etc? Or tell them in which zones the plant they're looking at would survive, or if it is perennial/annual/biennial?

Welcome to the Party!

-Robin

• west_gardener
    12 years ago

If you write a garden app don't forget the iPad. That's what I use. I use both "free" and I also buy apps.
    "But I want this to be useful for everyone, not just me."
    Make the app both local and universal.
    I live in Silicon Valley, Ca. I want a simple calendar that lists the last frost dates. The best buys for plants, seeds and bulbs for my area and a way to compare the cost of buying over the net including S&H, or driving to a local nursery, spending money on gas. Get data for all climate zones.That's just the beginning.

BTW, if you write for the computer, as you mentioned, and you want to transfer it to an app for other media, write it that way.

That's just the beginning.
    Looking forward to see your app.

• meldy_nva
    12 years ago

How many other apps for gardening are available? What are their best/worst features, or maybe most/least used?

I went through a spell of trying out various garden design programs (let's not get into the cost, but it was considerable). After a couple years and twelve different programs, I ended up using what I found to be the most realistic and flexible design aids: a date book to track "when" and graph paper to track "where", and a list of websites to help guess maturity sizes and appropriate cultivation.