Return to the The Garden Party Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Taking a break

Posted by gandle 4 NE (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 6, 11 at 18:32

Leone has me digging up about half of a rather large flower bed. Both nimblewill and bent grass have become pests and I have to use a spading fork and theen carefully make sure the weeds and their roots are out of the soil but, as I was digging I remembered the names of two towns in Nebraska. One I would have liked to have graduated from high school there, the town was Harvard. Would have liked to say that I was a Harvard graduate and the other town is named Colon, yes Colon. Can you imagine the remarks you would get if you said I lived in Colon.

I was in boot camp with a fellow from Colon and tthe bad jokes were constant.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Taking a break

SNORT! SNORT!
COLON??!!!!
That poor guy!

gandle, if you get bored working on that bed, I have TONS of Wiregrass invading beds you can have a go at!
Do you like PIZZA? :o)
KJ
(You be careful out there!)

o

Harvard? Ah yes! My father-in-law studied and learned a lot at Harvard. He was born there in fact. The family left Nebraska for Ga. when he was quite young.

We don't have wiregrass, but you are welcome to come and help the Husband Guy dig out the Betony and bermuda grass.

o

Oh, how the mind can wander when weeding and digging. Somehow your post reminded me of Intercourse, Pennsylvania, close to where DH grew up and close to where we used to live. My mind wanders in the garden during spring.

o

My enemy is crabgrass. Ky has some funny town/village names. Anybody wants to live in Monkey's Eyebrows?

o

• Posted by mwheel East. WV-Z.6 (My Page) on
    Wed, Apr 6, 11 at 20:38

West, I'm sure you know that you have to go thru Intercourse to get to Paradise? LOL

(Paradise is another small town in PA., not far from Intercourse.)

o

Texas has many towns with funny names, one is Bug Tussle.

o