Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
west_gardener

Soo, what's happening to my

west_gardener
10 years ago

Red-headed Irishman? It is a cactus I bought about eleven months ago, and posted here at the GP. The grafted flower was at the top of the plant when I bought it, but now it's sort of tilting, but I don't know why. I wonder how it got it's name.
Anyone know?

Comments (8)

• west_gardener
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Cactus Blue Candle? The grafted flower was on top when I bought it, but eleven months later, it is tilting.

• kris_zone6
    10 years ago

Could it be that the cactus has grown, but the graft area hasn't grown?

• lilosophie
    10 years ago

I agree with Kris, actually your cactus is healthy if it has grown so well

• west_gardener
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for the replies, ladies. Whew, glad to see that the tilting may be a good thing.
    I'm a total newbie to cacti growing so I don't know what to expect, most of the time.
    Below are a couple of pics of my Aloe Zanzibarica, also taken eleven months apart. I can tell it has grown. Luckily, I knew they grow sideways, so I did not freak out when I saw it doing that.
    It is fun to learn something new, but I am aware that I'm working with living things, so slow and easy does it.

• anneliese_32
    10 years ago

Years ago I had the same kind of cactus and it did the same thing. After I while the grafted part just disappeared and the rest grew at my mother's house for 32 years until she moved to a nursing home and my brother threw it out.

• west_gardener
    Original Author
    10 years ago

anneliese, thanks for posting. It does seem that my cacti is growing "normally" and it also seem that they might out live me.
    Hmmm.........

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago

West, look up Mammilaria spinosissima for information about your plant. When grown properly, this species produces lots of REAL flowers.