Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
west_gardener

I have been renewed.

west_gardener
9 years ago

My CA drivers license that is.

This is the first time in about 15-20 years that I've taken any type of written test. My license has been renewed automatically for the past years.
I studied the entire handbook on the net. Took practice tests on the net, and when I got to the DMV, it was all about paper. Sigh But I passed both the eye and written test.
Today is my birthday, I'm 74yo, and I think I'm straddling the new and the old well enough to live in both worlds.

Comments (11)

• jim_1 (Zone 5B)
    9 years ago

The missus (mid-60s) has bad vision and she will have to take the test next month. She is postponing and postponing. Not good.

I am able to renew just by showing that I am still breathing.

• rob333 (zone 7b)
    9 years ago

Why did you have to retake it? I am worried now! I am not sure I'd pass it. I have to teach him in another couple of months. Guess I better go read up!

• west_gardener
    Original Author
    9 years ago

rob, I don't know why I had to take written exam again. I have a perfect driving record and the dmv said it was not because of age.
    BTW, dh also had to take the tests when he renewed at age 74.
    It could be that the ca dmv only allows x number of automatic extensions.

• rob333 (zone 7b)
    9 years ago