Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anneliese_32

Winter Weather forecast

anneliese_32
13 years ago

While just watering my flowers a minute ago, I found an all black Wooly Worm.

Comments (23)

• pamven
    13 years ago

Please tell me that means winter is coming early...like tonight.

• rob333 (zone 7b)
    13 years ago

So how big was the "band"? Isn't that it, the size of the banding that tells how harsh the winter is to be? I'm new to this, so I could be totally wrong!!!

• anneliese_32
    Original Author
    13 years ago

The story goes that the wider the black bands are, the colder it gets. This one had no bands at all, just black.
    (Never mind that most years I find bands from light to dark brown and black and different widths at the same time and place,LOL).
    Right now I would appreciate a blast of cold air too.

• rob333 (zone 7b)
    13 years ago

You can say that again, 72% humidity with a predicted 110-115 degree heat index today!!! So it's to be the coldest winter in a long while? All black, that's one big band.

• posieh
    13 years ago

Early Spring....Early Winter!

• mawheel
    13 years ago

Come on, cold weather; I can hardly wait!

• gandle
    13 years ago

Hold it. Don't wish winter on us yet. Would much rather have 100 degrees than 25 below. That will be here too soon.

• oscarthecat
    13 years ago

I'm with you on that Gandle. Steve S.

• meldy_nva
    13 years ago

I'd prefer near midway twixt +100 and -25.... 50 sounds real good right now!

• anneliese_32
    Original Author
    13 years ago

AccuWeather's just released initial winter forecast for my part of KY:
    Wintry Battle Zone. As usual, we are on the edge of it.

• Lisa_H OK
    13 years ago

I hear it's another El Nino year...doesn't it seem like that rolls around every other year? Anyway, they said in Oklahoma there would be no Christmas blizzards this year, it will be warm and dry.

Lisa

• jazmynsmom
    13 years ago