Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anneliese_32

Oh Dear, a deer!

anneliese_32
10 years ago

Coming back this morning from my daily walk, my cat ran ahead of me, coming back from her morning outing. At the corner to the backyard she came to a dead stop and stared. Quietly I joined her and watched a deer empting the birdfeeder, then drinking from the birdbath and jumping the fence to my neighbor's garden.
I had been wondering why lately some days the birdfeeder seemed to be liked clean. Now I know.

Comments (8)

• lilosophie
    10 years ago

Amazing! I would not have thought a deer would go after bird-seed!
    Raccoon, yes - I even heard of bears taking a snack, but deer generally are browsers and go after shrubs, rose-bushes and grass.
    But I'm no expert on bird-feeders, I don't put any out, thee is enough natural feed for all the varieties of birds.

• west_gardener
    10 years ago

Great subject line for the topic.
    I guess the deer has found a fast food breakfast run through your neighborhood. I wonder where it spends the rest of the time?

• anneliese_32
    Original Author
    10 years ago

There is a line of trees, anywhere from a 30 yds width to about 1/4 mile running for a distance of 2 miles to a large preserve not far from our house. The woods used to end just across from our street but ares now about 1/2 mile away with a bunch of houses. When it is dark, or just getting grey, as today, the doe seems to have wandered around and found the birdfeeder. Well, what's another mouth to feed in that backyard zoo, birds, squirrels, racoons, opposums, the pitbull from the yard behind, the potbellied pig next door, wonder what's next.

• west_gardener
    10 years ago

What's next?
    It could be a kindred sausage person........lol.

Here is a link that might be useful: German sausages

• gloriam
    10 years ago

I had 4 deer in my backyard this morning, they are so pretty, I don't usually get up as early as I did today. Had