Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenbug_gw

This Moment - February 11, 2011

gardenbug
13 years ago

This Moment - A weekend ritual. A single photo - no words (or maybe a single sentence)- capturing a moment from the week. Perhaps a simple, special, extraordinary moment. Maybe a moment you want to pause, savor and remember. Maybe something that made you smile or laugh. Maybe a craft you are enjoying.... MAYBE A VALENTINE! Share your 'moment' with us.

Comments (18)

• gardenbug
    Original Author
    13 years ago

This is NOT a photo. I wish it were! This is an email that almost got deleted this morning. You know, a Nigerian email. You would have deleted it too... BUT, read on for our special moment.
    "Good day Sir,
    My Name is Kubiat Okon Nkanta, A daughter of Okon Abijah Nkanta from Nigeria,i have a photograph of you Sarah and Adam,My Dad was a Pharmacist and he told us about your family,i searhed you out today just for a re- union.My Dad passed on in 2005, i studied English and literary studies fron university of calabar nigeria and presently work and live in port harcourt Nigeria, ad my Sister ini lives in Texas, USA, and Nkanta ,my younger brother lives in Kent UK.i look forward to hearing from you soonest,my warm regards to Adam and Sarah,may God bless and keep you all.
    Regards!
    Kubiat"

This young woman's father was a gifted student of DH's in 1965-6. We brought him to the US to study at the University of Buffalo, later in Florida to complete his degree in Pharmacy.

He was living with us the day our son was born in June 1971.

He sent us photos of his family after his return home. Later he wrote us of his house burning down in a fire and we did not hear from him after that, although we thought of him often.

So this, after 35 years! Life is amazing.

• saucydog
    13 years ago

Oh I love a happy reunion, GB! What a nice email (and you're right, I would've almost deleted it, too!).