by John Keats

THE POETRY of earth is never dead:

When all the birds are faint with the hot sun,

And hide in cooling trees, a voice will run

From hedge to hedge about the new-mown mead;

That is the GrasshoppersÂhe takes the lead

In summer luxury,Âhe has never done

With his delights; for when tired out with fun

He rests at ease beneath some pleasant weed.

The poetry of earth is ceasing never:

On a lone winter evening, when the frost

Has wrought a silence, from the stove there shrills

The CricketÂs song, in warmth increasing ever,

And seems to one in drowsiness half lost,

The GrasshopperÂs among some grassy hills.

Comments (102)

• ctlavluvr
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Survived Day One and Day Two looms with many good prospects. Not used to sitting all day, though, and took several walks around the building. The property is beautifully landscaped and it's really cool to WALAT at work!

(((Eden))). I have no experience to compare, but am guessing your Mom would want you with Bella if she could give you the honest choice. You're "with her" more than you know, if not in person. Shame on the staff. I'm still thinking that you, Chelone, 'bug and I could start one heck of a business sticking up for people with illness.

'bug: Girl's soccer is a semi-tonic for everything, yes? Your feeling glum is certainly understandable given the amount of property and plantings you've worked so hard to achieve. Of late I've found that working on 5'squares in the garden and getting just that one spot "perfect" has diminished my sense of abandoning them to recuperate. A step at a time?

Cindy: Your awfice sounds like a bees nest. Hang in there!