Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardeningmary

Idyll #334 - The Fall Equinox

gardeningmary
16 years ago

Yep, it's today. I always thought it was the 21st - did something change? In the language of science, an equinox is either of two points on the celestial sphere where the ecliptic and the celestial equator intersect. For the rest of us, it's one of two times a year when the sun crosses the equator, and the day and night are of approximately equal length. Today this occured at 5.51 AM EDT.

Mary

Comments (100)

• chelone
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Time flies, "don't she?". Wow.

• gardenbug
    16 years ago

I remember all three Michelle! Thanks for posting those! :)

And yes Chelone, we couldn't get through a single meal without the encylopedia, unabridged dictionary and atlas. But spelling is no longer of interest to many, which horrifies me. I'm not good at spelling, but I do care! I suspect many are equally sloppy about their credit card records, checkbooks, and taxes.

• denisez10
    16 years ago