Return to the Perennials Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Opinions on Loosestrife?!

Posted by BlueBirdPeony 5A (My Page) on
Fri, Jan 18, 13 at 11:44

Hi everyone. In another post I received an opinion to get rid of my loosestrife (sorry for you Latin fans, I'm still learning). What are your thoughts?

So far the loosestrife is limited to two, out of the way beds on the west side of my property behind the house. They get late afternoon sun only. The only thing close to them are some daisies that I could live without.

To be honest, the loosestrife is a nice filler. Althought I'm not particularly attached to it- it's hard to use as a cut flower because it flowers all the way to the ground. When surrounded by all of these other wonderful flowers they don't really light my fire.

Opinions?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Opinions on Loosestrife?!

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Fri, Jan 18, 13 at 13:06

Bluebird, this is where you are going to have to learn some latin. Loosestrife is a common term for too many plants for anyone to be able to offer you advice without better identification. Lythrum salicaria - purple loosestrife, is an invasive banned in many states. You said in another post your garden was designed by a landscape architect? Very doubtful you would have that one. I'd be surprised to learn you had any detrimental plants in your new garden.

The lysimachias, and I'm guessing you may have one of those, vary widely in their growth and spreading habits. Many of them have their place in the garden and of those that are aggressive, they are only an issue for the gardener whose garden they are in, they don't present a problem for the neighborhood as can purple loosestrife.