Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paul444444

Perennials from seed

paul444444
9 years ago

Hi

I'm a newbie gardener and have recently discovered this amazingly useful site. We recently bought a new house with which we inherited a beautiful garden full of perennials. We want to make the garden our own by adding plants we like. I decided on the idea of growing perennials from seed and have a few basic questions. From reading this site I will be buying a grow light and heat mat and plan to start the seeds in 72 cell flats (using the 3x2 packs). I think I understand all the basics but I can't find if I can keep the plants in the 72 size holes or will have to pot them up before transplanting into the garden in spring. We live in Zone 2b so our last frost date is quite so I won't be starting the seeds just yet but I'm trying to determine what I need to buy. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Paul

Comments (14)

• User
    9 years ago

Hello Paul
    Can I suggest that you head on over to the winter sowing forum - better than the sowing from seed forum, where you will find a trove of useful info and easy ways of sowing many perennials without all the hoo-hah of using grow lights, heated mats and propagators (not that these are not useful, just not necessary). Right now is the time to start planning to get ready for sowing, especially those hardy perennials which need a slow stratification and hours of winter chill to break dormancy.

• paul444444
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks, I'll have a look. My only concern with ws is that I live in zone 2b and our temperatures can get very low (-50 celcius) and also can fluctuate rapidly from week to week. For example it's +2 today and will be -27 in a few days. Regarding my original question do plants, either annual or perennials, need to be potted up from the 72 cell for space or will they be fine where they are?

Thanks

• gardenweed_z6a
    9 years ago