Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluebirdpeony

Perennial help

BlueBirdPeony
11 years ago

In the fall due to some serious health issues we didn't cut a number of plants down at the end of the season. We deadheaded everything but for the "bird plants" (cone flowers, blanket flowers, etc.) but didn't chop them.
So now what? Clearly we aren't going to do anything until spring. Do I chop them down in spring? Or will they continue from last years stems? Am I going to lose my beatiful blooms?
Peonies (yes I know they can mold but ours have not)
Hostas
Iris
Day lilies
Black eyed Susan's
Loosestrife
Cone flowers
Blanket flowers
Thyme
Oriental poppies

The list goes on..in case you can't tell, I'm an absolutely novice. I purchased a house during NE Ohio winter last year and had no idea what was buried under all the snow! Trying to learn as I go! Thanks!

Comments (14)

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    11 years ago

Chopping them down in spring will be fine.

tj

• BlueBirdPeony
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Blanket

• BlueBirdPeony
    Original Author
    11 years ago

World's biggest hosta

• BlueBirdPeony
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Iris 1

• BlueBirdPeony
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Iris 2

• BlueBirdPeony
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Peony early spring

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

can you figure out how to make you pix upright????

there are bigger hosta.. lol ...

there are few.. if any .. plants that MUST be chopped in fall rather than spring ... it really is.. either/or ... not one over the other ... and not doing is NOT a guilt thing ...

besides.. for a newbie.. its the best way to 'SEE' how the plants die back .. [even now.. 30 years later.. i still worry.. in fall .. i will cut off the one piece that will live..]

take before and after pix ... so that should you have time in fall.. you can look back.. and see .. how it all worked ...