Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aachenelf

Ranunculus repens Flore-Pleno

aachenelf z5 Mpls
11 years ago

I hadn't thought of this plant since my childhood and my grandmothers garden and then: There it was! - in the Forest Farms catalog. So, does my memory serve be correctly? Is this thing as adorable as I remember and should I get it? I've been reading it can become invasive in moist soil, but I don't remember it getting out of control in grandmas garden. Also, with the current drought outlook, it looks like moist garden's may be a thing of the past - at least around here - for the immediate future.

Just another zone hardiness observation: Forest Farms lists this one as z5. Grandmas garden was a solid z3.

Kevin

Comments (10)

• Ispahan Zone6a Chicago
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Kevin, I think all buttercup flowers are adorable and charming, sure to bring a smile to the face of anyone. And the double ones have such amazing swirled symmetry!

I have no experience with Ranunculus repens 'Flore Pleno', though I read it does spread by underground stolons/rhizomes. But because it is double-flowered and sterile, at least you won't have problems with it seeding about.

There are two hardy ranunculus forms with double flowers that I can vouch for, at least so far. One is Ranunculus acris 'Flore Pleno', which seems similar to a taller, bushier form of Ranunculus repens. I planted a few last spring from 4 inch pots and they flowered admirably through the month of June during a time of horrid heat, drought and highly erratic watering from a hose. Flowers were charming, long-lasting and about the size of a quarter, though I am sure they will be larger once established and/or the temperatures are more moderate (at least below 90F). The plants died down after flowering but resprouted a few basal leaves in September/October. This form is said to clump up and spread slowly.