Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
david_5311

So you need to sell your garden ? (and, oh yeah, the house too)

david_5311
18 years ago

Well, I had expected to post a thread like this way back last summer. But then my life exploded, and now I am finally getting back to picking up the pieces (more on that maybe later...). I had been posting here for several years, and had asked for advice about selling a garden, since I bought a new property and was building a new house, moving for the first time in 20 years.

Thoughts were all over the map at the time about how easy or hard it would be to sell a house with a complex garden. Many people thought it would be relatively hard, some easier, and the rationale varied too.

We listed out house in late March or early April I think, planning to move in late June. Many realtors recommended we start earlier, given a slow market. But I knew, with 3 kids and a dog still at home, that keeping the house showable would be very hard. Also that I wanted the garden to show at its best.

Many people coming through the house (which is beautiful, and would be considered 'high end' in our market), thought the garden was just too complicated and too much work. There were clearly some, however, who were excited about the garden, which is well known in this area, having been on lots of tours and partially well visualized from the street. The garden has lots of good hardscaping, which I think is critical for the garden to really be an asset to the house. The unfortunate thing is that the best season of the garden for most of us (May through July, mine maybe into September), is somewhat later than the best season for the real estate market (February through April or May). And in really northern gardens, March is often the peak of the real estate market and is a rather ugly, bare time in gardens with a lot of planting space devoted to perennials.