Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ourhappyhome1

Newbie question: Walkers Low catmint

ourhappyhome
11 years ago

Hi,
I'm new to the Perennial forum, but not so new to Gardenweb. I wander around here occasionally to see what I can learn.

Fields of lavendar are so beautiful and calming. I Absolutely love them. They are rare here in Georgia however. I did some research and discovered that lavendar is not so easy to grow here in Georgia. Instead, I found Catmint, Walkers Low. What I want are seeds, but since I can't find any, I am comsidering 3inch plants from American Meadows. The problem is the price. They are $9.99 each! Is it me or is that outrageous? I'm desperate though. I will spend the money for a single plant if I have to. The question is, do I have to? Does anyone know of another source for plants or seeds? I am in love with the color, fullness and size of Walkers Low. Plants seem to be covered with blooms and very lush compared to other cultivars. I'd eventually like to have a large border. I was considering 'blue carpet' because seeds are available everywhere, but the plants seem more blue than lavender and that's not what I want. Thank you so much for your help.

April

Comments (34)

• torajima
    11 years ago

Walkers Low is pretty popular, so you should be able to buy large pots at your big box hardware stores for around $5 or $6.

And Swallowtail Gardens has various catmint seeds, just not Walkers Low.

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    11 years ago

Re Blue Carpet comment - the plants seem more blue than lavender
    Blue and purple shades photograph poorly, so if the shade is particularly important, try to find the plants in person and in bloom to be sure of what you are getting. Also, some companies retouch their photos in blue/purple shades, so unless you actually see the plant, you won't be sure of the color.