Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
garystpaul_zone_4

Aubrieta -- What's up with this plant?

garystpaul
11 years ago

Every spring i see seeds in the racks, but never plants in the nurseries (Minnesotan here). I've read up on aubrieta, seen no red flags, but am wondering why no one around here seems to grow it, or why it's not listed for sale in many places (I haven't seen any). Is this a difficult plant, fussy, not worth the trouble? Would appreciate hearing any views, experiences, etc. I have half a flat of Whitewell Gem (Burpee) growing under lights in my basement.

TIA, Gary

Comments (27)

• funnthsun z7A - Southern VA
    11 years ago

I have Aubrieta, although this is my first year with it. It is a rock garden type of plant, fyi, although I have it just in a normal bed. I purchased it as a plant from our local nursery, so they are available out there. The variety that I have is Violet With Eye and it is showstopping gorgeous! Completely covered with blooms right now and they are flourescent purple, they look like they glow when dusk comes around. I am trialing it this year to see how it does. I did a ton of research before I purchased it and everything looked good about it. Of course, my research was for Zone 7, but this variety does list zone 4 as the lowest it will go. All I can say is that I have been very pleased with it, so far, but time will tell.

11 years ago

Here's a pic of mine. Gorgeous color! Pardon my leaves :) Still putting plants in, so haven't mulched for the spring, yet.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    11 years ago