Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redguelph

Shade plants

redguelph
11 years ago

Hi,
I live in Ontario, Canada and, am looking for advice on what to plant under an oak tree.
I have planted daffodils and crocus for the early spring but as the leaves grow in it is shaded for 95% of the day. I would like something that catches the eye if possible. Are there any flowering plants that would work?
Although I have tended houseplants for years, I am relatively new to outdoor gardening.
Any help would be much appreciated.

Comments (10)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

95% shade is a lot...

but shade.. in words only.. means little.. how bright is it under there????

hosta come to mind.. and some of the more native wildflowers ... but they all need some level of light to thrive ... nothing grows in a cave ...

in fact.. if you have a local hosta club.. join it.. if not for the hosta.. but when they offer garden tours.. to see how those peeps deal with gardening in shade ...

i know there is a windsor club.. but offhand i cant recall where guelph is ...

and as a rule.. the bigger the flower.. the more sun it takes.. to generate the energy to make that giant flower.. e.g. roses/dahlia.. etc ... you will note.. as names come in.. many are small flowered.. perhaps a lot of mini flowers for impact.. but individually .. smaller flowered ....

ken

• sunnyborders
    11 years ago

Garden in southern Ontario too, but don't have to contend with excessive shade.

I'd think of ephemerals, like anenomes. Find Anenome ranunculoides vigourous, but tidy. Love the colour of A. nemorosa 'Robinsoniana', not as compact in flower, but very attractive.

Wonder whether the oak tree habit of holding onto dead leaves could limit the light coming through in spring.

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    11 years ago