Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vajeff

Cutting back lantana

vajeff
12 years ago

Our lantana is showing new growth 2 months early. Usually we prune it back to a couple inches from the ground, but this year there are fresh buds at least 1ft along the larger of last year's branches. The center of the stems further away are even green. We've never had a lantana do this before and I'm lost on what to do now.

Should I cut it back like usual, discarding the new growth? Or should I just shape it up and leave anything that's currently growing? I'm a bit afraid that if I leave it like it is and just trim all the dead stems off it will become enormous and more difficult to keep in check.

Comments (5)

• brit5467
    12 years ago

Hi Jeff -

First of all...wanna commend y'all for having it come back. I live in VA too and for some reason, other then my hanging baskets, it never has. Have tried it in the ground a couple times...???

I'm no expert & am sure others will know more. But I'll tell you what I know about mine. Go ahead and cut back to where you usually do since you want to keep them in check. Just make sure there's new growth left...like you're used to seeing.

All you're doing is 'topping it off' so to speak. In fact, it will get fuller since it will split off from the cut area. At least that's my experience in my baskets (which I have re-used the past couple years).

I'd say as long as you leave enough buds left, it will be a happy camper...and with the bizzare weather we've been having I would not wait to do so. Do it now.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    12 years ago

That's cool! Do you know which one it is? Mine are the ones with orange/yellow flowers. None of mine have any live branches. If the branches are sturdy, not floppy, and you have room for a HUGE shrub, it could be a fun novelty this year. If you can't devote a LOT of space to it, you certainly won't hurt it by trimming the old branches off.

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    12 years ago