Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovetogrowflowers

No signs of Lantana yet :-(

lovetogrowflowers
10 years ago

I'm one of those worry warts. I put out two lantana 2 years ago and they both came back previous years. Here in Newnan our weather is such a mess right now, we dropped down to 33 yesterday, in April???

I'm seeing signs of my brugmansia, cleome, little four o' clocks popping their head up through the ground. Why no lantana? I followed previous years advice of not cutting back until spring. I mulched them. I think I may be just rushing it. It has no even come close to really warming up here and staying warm.

Anyone have any experience with lantana? I'm new to them, and was attracted to them right away. They constantly bloom, love the heat too it seems. And I actually did get lucky and both of mine always attracted butterflies. But now, I just have some dead stalks and not seeing any green and don't really know where to look for any sign of life. I've dug very carefully around them looking, I'm not digging far down, but sure would like to see some life.

I'm probably just worried that because we had some really really cold days, snow, ice etc... And we never have that, so now I'm thinking they're dead :-(

Any ideas? How long should I give it before I just give up on these and go buy more? I mean our highs are only like 70-75 right now. Lows sometimes still in the high 40's low 50's. Is it just not warm enough for lantana yet?

Comments (9)

• TexasRanger10
    10 years ago

It depends on the kind. If its the hardy types, they are probably fine. If they are those weeny hybrid things, you might have to buy new ones. Some of mine are showing signs of new growth, some are not, the native Texas ones are and so is the big bush one with solid gold flowers. I got a couple more but can't even remember what they are now that are also showing signs but just as many that aren't.