Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
traveler000mkl

Two shade beds I need help with!

Mj
11 years ago

I have two small beds I need some help on! - 1) One on the back of the housefacing NNE, and 2) one on the left side of the house facing WNW. Our house faces SSW.
Deer resistant plants would be wise choices for our garden.

1) on the back of the house facing NNE

This is a very narrow bed (2ft deep I would guess) between concrete walkway and the wall with large window. It gets no direct sunlight, but but doesn't feel too dark maybe because it opens to the sky and light reflects from the white siding. There is a small area where Pachysandra is doing well, to the right of that is AC unit, and to the right of that about 10ft wide. I am a total newbie but the area is fairly damp/wet, so not dry shade. Currently there are only two astillbes there that grew about 1-2ft tall. Foliage was good, but it had only 2-3 flowers per plant. I am dividing them soon to see if that helps - I doubt previous owner did much to it at all.

What else can I plant here? Do I need some foundation plant? It looks awfully empty in the winter so some evergreen + other perennials would be nice I think. But not a lot of space. Also it has large window on that wall, so I rather not plant something that will block the view too much. So something shorter than 3-4 ft ideally. I could plant something taller in the corner where it is just wall.

2) on the left side of the house facing WNW

This bed is on the back NW corner of our house. No direct sunlight in AM at all, but around 2-3pm (depending on the season) it starts getting direct sun but only for a couple of hours. There are no trees between us and the neighbor on that side of the house so it gets direct sun until the sun is blocked by the neighbor's house. The soil is moist.