Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
texasgrl2324

HELP! Newbie gardener

texasgrl2324
11 years ago

Hi! I'm new to gardening. I planted peony bulbs in early spring (I know, I know) and one of them just shot up a beautiful little red shoot. I was looking at the other spots where i planted and one has about 6 teeny tiny pale pink shoots coming up. My concern is that they are kind of laying in the soil. They have barely peeked through. Is this normal? The other shoot is so thick, red & it's straight as can be. Just wondering if those other little teeny shoots are normal or I'd something happened to them.
Also what should I expect from this season? I didn't expect them to grow at all since I planted them in the spring instead of the fall.

Thanks!

Comments (9)

• texasgrl2324
    Original Author
    11 years ago

New shoot thick & red

• Donna
    11 years ago

Congratulations. You have accomplished something that very few deep south gardeners can do. You have a peony growing in your yard! Since it is a new plant, I wouldn't expect blooms this year, though you never know. I would definitely advise you to mulch it and then leave it alone. Peonies prefer to stay in one spot and settle in. It may take 3 or 4 years for it to bloom.

Hopefully you can give it steady moisture and afternoon shade. That will help your chances.

• BlueBirdPeony
    11 years ago

Hi! Certainly no expert, but I am happy for your success!! I love our peonies! Mine look like this right now. Not much different from yours, so I think that's great!

• texasgrl2324
    Original Author
    11 years ago

What about these (where arrows are pointing)? Is that new growth? Im concerned about them because they are so small and kinda laying flat compared to my other thick red shoot.

Thanks! I was so excited when I saw the little red shoot. I figured no flowering but I will be patient. The blooms that will happen in the future are worth it!

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

hey...