Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sujiwan_gw

Chrysanthemum (garden mums)-advice?

I've been developing a desire to grow chrysanthemums-well, more of them.

I've grown some from seed and gotten some (usually yellow) from swaps, but would like to expand. How does one know if a chrysanthemum is winter hardy?

The vegetable stores are loaded with football mums and such in autumn but are these hardy to zone 6? I'm intruiged by the idea of getting some cuttings--maybe from King's Mums in CA unless I can find someplace closer. But --the bloom times are throwing me off. I can't tell which ones would do well for me.

Can someone educate me how to choose the right sort of mums to try for zone 6?

Comments (17)

• aachenelf z5 Mpls
    12 years ago

I highly, highly recommend the site below. I've been ordering mums from them for a few years now and have never lost one (I'm in MN and so are they, so winters can be tough).

The prices are for rooted cuttings, but don't let that discourage you. In my experience, by fall each cutting produces a nice blooming sized plant. The following year, they really take off.

Kevin

Here is a link that might be useful: Mums

• aachenelf z5 Mpls
    12 years ago

Forgot to say, the only bad thing about that website are the photos. They really are kind of crappy and not very representative of how the mums will look. It's better to just go by the written descriptions. You'll get a better idea of what the colors will be.

Kevin

• wieslaw59
    12 years ago

It is actually strange. Some of the varieties mentioned on that site are not even qualified as hardy in zone 8 in England , and they are not hardy in Denmark zone 7 and Poland zone 6(among others Sea Urchin, Starlet,Ruby Mound, Minnautumn)

• aachenelf z5 Mpls
    12 years ago