Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
v1rt

plant that flowers profusely

v1rt
15 years ago

Good evening folks. I'm sorry if I'm posting it here. I was planning to post it on our Annuals forum but it's very quiet there and looks like only few people go there.

I need some help. It's my first time to become so interested in gardening. I learned wintersowing this year and have started planting some of my seedling perennials.

I would like to really WOW my wife this year. I've read that some perennials doesn't flower the first year. So, I would like to ask some help which annual plants I should buy that would flower profusely from summer to fall other than petunias, nasturtium, impatiens, calendula, and cleome.

I will be putting it on a full sun location. Ideally, I'm looking for a 12" height plant. Color of the flowers can be any. Foliage color and pattern would be a plus. And I was hoping to direct sow it so it's more cheaper for me to buy.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments (22)

• echinaceamaniac
    15 years ago

Zinnias and dwarf sun flowers would be nice annuals, but I highly recommend perennial Gaillardias. Mine are in full bloom right now. They will bloom all summer. I started these from seeds. Gaillardia "Goblin" is my favorite, but Burgundy is great too. There is also an annual called "Sundance" I think that would be perfect.

There is also an annual called "Diamond Frost" Euphorbia. It blooms white like baby's breath. It blooms more and longer than anything I've ever grown. You can take cuttings and root them in water. I over-wintered mine as a houseplant and rooted cuttings of it. It bloomed even in the water while rooting. You will love it.

• hlollar
    15 years ago