Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
norwoodn4b

Help with choosing plants, lots of space

norwoodn
10 years ago

Hello, this is my first time posting on this forum and I came because I need some recommendations on choosing which perennials to plant on our 2 acre spread.
We live in Montana, a warmer area, zone 4. We have apples and pear already, but I need some plants that don't especially attract pests! Like deer and antelope are the main ones, they like to chew on fallen apples.

Many thanks!!
I'm open to anything really.

Comments (12)

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    10 years ago

Two acres is a LOT of area to cover. I would think you would want to start with trees, shrubs and only then begin to establish some perennial beds close to the house.

• TexasRanger10
    10 years ago

You'd be well advised to plant what grows native or has naturalized well in your area & treat it as a reclamation project on 2 acres if its in need of clearing out undesirables or if it just needs visual interest, either way its a good way to manage a large area. Start studying what is indigenous to MT, there are many lovely specimens which would naturalize creating a self maintaining landscape in the long run, it is also good stewardship of the land.

As far as landscaping around the house, the question is too general & could lead to endless suggestions based on many individual people's taste, location or goals. It might be easier to start looking at some MT pictures online & established landscapes in your area for ideas of what you yourself like. A long list of plants would be confusing but looking at combinations of local plantings you find appealing would probably be more practical. If you then have a question about specific plants you are considering, people could respond with their experience growing them.