Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
juleem13

Difference Between Deadheading, Cutting, and Shearing

JuleeM13
9 years ago

I am very new to gardening (just planted my first bed) and I'm still learning all the terminology. I thought I understood the term deadheading (pulling the flower off from the top of the stem), however when researching care for one of my perennials (Dianthus 'Dynasty Red') I've seen what I feel is conflicting information.

I've seen it say to deadhead regularly, But I've also seen instructions saying "when flowers die, cut stem to the ground." And finally "lightly shear back both spent blooms and foliage".

So when the flower is gone do I just deadhead it (pull off the flower) or cut it down or something else? I'm confused on the difference between deadheading, cutting, and shearing. Is it all the same technique?

Comments (3)

• gardenper
    9 years ago

They may achieve the same result, depending on what you need to do.

for example, for deadheading -- you can snip off with your fingers, cut with scissors, or maybe shear it with something that is not a scissor. In the end, you are "deadheading" the flower, regardless of which method you use. Some people like to use scissors or pruners because there is some level of argument about how much stress you should give your plants. Clean cuts won't pull on the stem as you try to remove the flower or leaf, etc.

As regarding to deadheading, it is usually only referring to the flower part, but you can take a few stems and leaves with it, which is up to you. However, I haven't read about deadheading by cutting the stem to the ground.

For many plants, even if they just have one flower along a stem, it is better to leave that stem to feed the plant. One example exception to this is for some roses and certain other flowers. If you cut back the flower and a bit of stem, you encourage new growth that should make an additional bunch of flowers later in the season.