Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ziyakr

New sun perennial bed?

ziyakr
9 years ago

Hello, this week I am expanding a curved, 15'x2', full sun bed outward by two feet. The existing plantings are just 2 rosebushes, both doing very well. As it's my first time working with sun perennials (I have a big 2 year old shade perennial bed that is doing great) I am hoping for just a bit of support/slash advice here on gardenweb. I'm outside of Kansas City, MO and we are about 4 inches short of our usual annual rainfall. I'll be watering the roses anyway, so I didn't go for full on drought resistant plants.

So far I have:
Purchased 5 new roses (2 floribundas, 2 hybrid musks and a polyantha)
Purchased a variety of plants to fill in around the roses (Missouri Evening Primrose, various Columbines, 2 varieties of Coreopsis, an annual I've been wanting to try called Cleome, a couple of random Dahlias to try in ground, seeds for Baby's Breath, seeds for Vulcan and Zebrina Mallow)
Had the new strip tilled, it was just regular lawn (not grass just weeds)
Amended the new strip, plus in between the existing roses
Watered in the amendments and shaped the new bed to get ready for edging
Purchased enough mulch for at least 2 inches covering the entire area
Purchased edging to match the next door shade bed
Tomorrow I will lay out the plants and I plan to plant thursday and friday

Anything obvious I'm missing? Any recommendations for other steps or tips for success. I've been planning and dreaming all winter and don't want to mess this up.

Comments (9)

• gardenweed_z6a
    9 years ago

Laying recycled corrugated cardboard under your mulch will go a long way in suppressing weeds from growing between your perennials.

Evening primrose tends to spread--a LOT--where I am. I've pulled it out for years and this year it's back with a vengeance.