Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fifthelement111_gw

Making Tree Stump Planter...what to put in it?

Fifthelement111
10 years ago

Hello,
So I have a tree stump I am using as a planter. It has drainage holes and it's ready to go. I am wanting it to be strictly perennial, but I'm hoping to have a good blend of spring through fall blooms. With that being said, I would also like varying heights so they don't all overtake each other. I am still a novice gardener at best. If you lived in zone 5, what would YOU put in your planted? Keep in mind I have about 9 inches of depth and about 14 inches of width in the shape of a square.

I was going for something like this...

http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/photos/0,,20658992_21259220,00.html

Comments (9)

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    10 years ago

That size won't allow you to do all you hope to with strictly perennials. Do you have a picture of your stump and is it in full sun?

tj

• Fifthelement111
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I will totally get a pic up tomorrow. It is DEFINITELY in full sun. My issue is maybe based on ignorance? I have a hard time grasping the concept of annuals. I just feel like you spend the money, then have to spend the same money again next year? LOL Again, I'm a novice at best. But if annuals are also needed, well I've gone this far. I must keep going.

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    10 years ago

If you want color for a long season using perennials in a planter that size, you will probably want colorful foliage along with some flowers since in general perennials won't bloom all summer. Bulbs with small foliage may help with early and late flower color. Your plants will need to be hardy to a couple zones colder than your zone 5 in order to survive the winter in the more exposed situation of the planter, and that would really limit your plant choices. The plants in your illustration are all annuals, and that may end up being a better solution for you.