Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diggerdee

Rooting rhodies?

I know, I know, I should go to the rhodie forum... but I thought I'd ask here first since I'm more comfortable wth everyone here.

Has anyone had success rooting rhodies? I googled and found some instructions, which seem pretty straightforward (being a visual person, I will have to try to find something with pictures or video to help me out).

But has anyone here done it and what was your success level?

I have a huge old (maybe 50 years old? At least 30...) rhodie but it's way too close to the foundation and smack in front of my house in front of the big window. Ive been putting off cutting it down for almost 15 years but just have to. I thought, being old, it was an elegans, but I discovered after planting a few that the blooms are much darker pink. This old one has gorgeous soft light pink blooms, so I'd like to try to root some cuttings.

My plan is to cut it way down (from about 15 feet to 3 or 4), let it stay another year or two till I decide on my new foundation plantings (and make sure I have some good, healthy, rooted, new plants) and and attempt to move it, although I may just have to sacrifice it.

Anyway, enough rambling about my beloved rhodie. Any hints or tips to guarantee rooting success?

Thanks,
Dee

Comments (20)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    10 years ago

Dee, you'll find some very helpful and experienced people at the rhododendron forum, nothing off putting there. But since you asked here, I linked a set of very easy instructions for taking cuttings of your rhododendron.

When you do decide to move it, ask again but maybe on the Rhododendron Forum that time. They aren't difficult, only heavy...Surface rooted with a few additional anchoring roots, they have a very wide, but not deep, rootball - you'll need help with the weight.

Here is a link that might be useful: Cuttings for beginners

• aachenelf z5 Mpls
    10 years ago