Return to the Perennials Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Sickly Heuchera (Coral bells)

Posted by shadara 5b-6a MI (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 16, 09 at 0:55

Tried posting to the Garden Clinic forum with few results so far (that... AND I'm dying to know what is wrong with my plant, since heucheras are supposed to be pretty disease resistant).

I purchased a Heuchera 'Marmalade' a couple days ago. I was hasty and in a rush, but now that I have it home I want to make it better. Then later call GH and tell them what it was that was affecting their plants (and my disappointment).

It has small brown spots on about a third to half of it's apricot colored leaves. When turning them over there are raised, whitish bumps/growths where the spots are above.

Is this fungal or pest?

I'm kinda freaking out because I'm a newb gardener of any type and never seen this before. I know I should just return the plant, but I really wanted this one (for color and size). I will try to treat this plant however and whatever it takes before putting it in my garden. Worst fear... whatever IT has will spread to others already there. But I have quarantined it; away from others and not planted thus far.

I rather try to fix it, then return it for refund. It's a learning experience for me. I just want to keep my other plants in said garden safe for now.

Any clue what it is?

Top of leaf:
http://shadaraslilworld.shutterfly.com/131

Underside of leaf:
http://shadaraslilworld.shutterfly.com/132

I tried searching pics online of various diseases and such and nothing looks like this. Please help me if you can.

Here is a link that might be useful: Top side, next photo in album is bottom side

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Sickly Heuchera (Coral bells)

I found this which I thought might be helpful. I thought their description of rust or fungal leaf spot might match your description. I haven't had this problem with heucheras but did have rust on hollyhocks. Removing the infected leaves helps.

Becky