Return to the Perennials Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Mercury Rising Coreopsis is AWESOME!

Posted by funnthsun 7B - NC (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 14, 13 at 9:36

This is my first year with Mercury Rising and it has amazed me already! It was a tiny plant when I got it. It's been in the ground for just a couple of months, it has grown like crazy in that time and the blooms are to die for! This pic doesn't even do the color justice, but it is still beautiful and not even in peak bloom yet. Wow, just wow.

By the way, Santa Rosa has these right now for 2.99 each, which is ridiculously cheap for such a new cultivar. I bought 3 more when I saw that price. No idea where I'm going to put them, but with these results, I will find a spot!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Mercury Rising Coreopsis is AWESOME!

I did have this on my "to buy list" but haven't got around to getting it.

Do you think it will be a flopper??

o

Hard to say at this point, but it doesn't seem to be showing those tendencies, despite the beating rain that it's gotten over the past week or so. It does "spread" a bit, not the roots, but the flowers, as you can see like to reach out. Not sure if you can tell from the pic, but there is quite a few buds that haven't opened in the center, so that kind of gives it the spreading look, which will probably go away once those open, but it still is a reacher. The color of the blooms are very similar in color to the heart attack dianthus, I know you have some of those, rouge. That bright yellow center totally changes the look, though. It makes that color really pop!

This post was edited by funnthsun on Fri, Jun 14, 13 at 9:56

o

Glad to hear you like it- I ordered some for the nursery the other day. I am curious to know how folks in a low zone fare with it in terms of hardiness...
CMK

o

Lovely picture. Thanks for posting.

Any input from people on other coreopsis varieties? Santa rosa gardens still has a few different types available.

o