Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arylkin

bee balm with different bloom times?

arylkin
10 years ago

I've been reading a lot about bee balm on this forum and think I'm going to plant several plants in a "'wasted area" we have in our yard. I'm fine with it spreading (in fact I hope it does) and love the smell of it.

I'm wondering however, in your experience do the different varieties bloom at different times? If so I was thinking of mixing a few types to have a longer bloom season. Do you think that's a good idea? I'm new to gardening but have been reading as much as I can to learn. Some things I've read about planting different types or colors of a plant say it's not a good idea since they will intermix and spawn plants that aren't very attractive. Is that something to be concerned about with bee balm?

Also, since I'm looking for it to spread over an area (but also am trying to do things on the cheap), I have a garden center that sells 6-8 inch pots of perennials, could I buy some and split each pot into say 2 or 3 plants and plant those, hopefully encouraging the plants to spread more quickly?

This post was edited by arylkin on Sat, Jun 15, 13 at 9:40

Comments (9)

• gardenweed_z6a
    10 years ago

I'd have to check some actual plants to say with absolute certainty but I think Monarda/bee balm is in the mint family. Feel the stems--if they're square instead of round, they're part of the mint family which includes many rampant spreaders. It's been my experience they're also nearly indestructible.