Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
transterp

Astilbe weak flower stems

transterp
10 years ago

I purchased some astilbe starts ('Fanal Red') that came up quickly and with great foliage but most of the flower stems were weak and fell over before full flowering. Any ideas how I could prevent this next year? I'm only in my 3rd year of gardening with perennials and have mostly varieties of shade beds, so I'm eager but ignorant.
Thanks for any help you can give!

Comments (9)

• mzdee
    10 years ago

So glad you posted this. My astilbe grew with almost a ruñner habit, intertwiningwith my heuchera. I grew them very successfully in a previous home. No idea what is happening now.

• gardenweed_z6a
    10 years ago

There could be any number of reasons to explain the problem--poor soil, insufficient water, predators. Lots of astilbes have thrived where I am in your zone so I'm guessing soil is probably at fault for yours not doing so well. My own are doing well in slightly acidic, sandy loam in full to partial shade. For some reason this seems to be a down year for their blossoms altho' a few varieties are apparently thriving.

Keep in mind that thanks to weather conditions, many times perennials have good years and bad years. A gardener learns to accept both rather than expecting a garden to perform exactly the same year after year. This year my Hellebores/Lenten roses produced nearly 50 blooms whereas I was lucky to see less than a tenth that many last year.