Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melfield_wy

Honeysuckle

melfield_wy
11 years ago

My apologies if this has been covered before... I'm new to perennials. Does anyone know of a honeysuckle variety that hardy down to zones 4 or 5?

Comments (26)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

i am in z5 ...

and i have the old ugly standard.. everywhere ... probably invasive..

and the vine version with white and yellow flowers ... no winter damage at all ... i do not know its name ...

Here is a link that might be useful: LONICERA japonica 'Halliana'

• wieslaw59
    11 years ago

Lonicera periclymenum is supposed to be hardy to zone 4. There are several varieties of it, of which Serotina and Belgica Select are widely available here in Europe, do not know about America though. Some of the clones are very fragrant, but some are less so.

• aachenelf z5 Mpls
    11 years ago

Around here, Honeysuckle can mean:

a shrub
    a vine
    some of the oldtimers even refer to Columbine as Honeysuckle

Kevin

• melfield_wy
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks! What I am looking for is the vining type - that creeps up a trellis like Clematis.

• Marie Tulin
    11 years ago

goldflame. not a tight twiner....needs support but lovely over a stone wall or some other support. Be careful not to plant the invasive one. Here in ma in zone 5a, a conservation property's trees and shrubs have been smothered in the yellow white one, probably japanese honeysuckle]

• Freda
    11 years ago

There are quite a lot of Honeysuckle Vines hardy down to Zone 4 and 5 USDA. I'm Z5 Can and I have no problem growing Goldflame honeysuckle vine. Its starting to bloom now. I also have Coral and Dropmore Scarlet.

• terrene
    11 years ago

Lonicera japonica is the highly invasive vine and is on the Mass Prohibited plant list. It is no doubt the one that's smothering the conservation land. Lonicera sempervirens (aka Coral honeysuckle) is native and much better behaved.

• melfield_wy