Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dtownjbrown_gw

What could be doing this to my Coneflowers?

dtownjbrown
15 years ago

Im new to gardening and planted four 'Magnus' coneflowers in my front yard a little over a week ago. The salesperson at the greenhouse said that they hadnt reached their "season" yet, but that they should start blooming mid-summer. I put them in what I thought was a sunny spot (the front of my house faces south) but now I'm not so sure. The weather has been very mild in Ohio the past couple of weeks and it wasnt until today that the temp even "approached" 80 degrees. On my way out to work this afternoon (just before 3pm) I took a gander at them and noticed some of the plants were missing parts of their leaves, as if something is eating them. Can anyone offer any help?

Here is a layout out of where I planted them.....#4 is showing the worse signs of whatever is happening to them but #3 doesnt look so good either:

[IMG]http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q179/dtownjbrown/gardening/Gardening010edit.jpg[/IMG]

[b][u]These are pics of Plant #4 (why is it drooping like that?):[/b][/u]

[IMG]http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q179/dtownjbrown/gardening/Gardening001.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q179/dtownjbrown/gardening/Gardening004.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q179/dtownjbrown/gardening/Gardening003.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q179/dtownjbrown/gardening/Gardening002.jpg[/IMG]

[b][u]These are pics of Plant #3 (I think I might have this one to far under my evergreens but would that explaing the "eating" pattern on the leaves?):[/b][/u]

[IMG]http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q179/dtownjbrown/gardening/Gardening006.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q179/dtownjbrown/gardening/Gardening007.jpg[/IMG]

[b][u]Plant #1 is only affected on one leave so far:[/b][/u]

[IMG]http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q179/dtownjbrown/gardening/Gardening005.jpg[/IMG]

Comments (27)