Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovefornature

Jacob Cline Looking for Companion Plants

lovefornature
14 years ago

Hi All :)

I have a perennial bed I am designing in my front yard because my dogs eat all of my plants in the back. Last year, they ate my Lilac Tree down to a stub and demolished my Coneflowers.

The perennial bed needs to look somewhat tidy since it will be in the front yard.

It is approximately 20 feet long by 10 feet deep. The bed is part sun, mainly afternoon sun.

I have a Jacob Cline I am planting in the bed as the centerpiece. There will also be a hummer feeder there.

I am not very good at complimenting colors and shapes for things to look great together. What other two colors compliment red really well and would look good around and in front of the Bee Balm?

Any ideas???

Thanks in advance.

Comments (8)

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    14 years ago

Monarda is an agressive spreader, so whatever you choose, they need to be tough, fairly large plants.

• katefisher
    14 years ago

Since you like hummers you no doubt know this already. But on Sunday my husband and I were relaxing in the back yard and saw a hummer repeatedly visit my Nepata 'Walkers Low' catmint. First time since I planted it I have actually seen a hummingbird there.

However catmint is another mad grower so if you go that way be ready with the pruners:) It has double in size since being planted last fall.

Kate

• donnagwd
    14 years ago

Monarda wasn't invasive for me and it finally died out. I had a lovely bed going with light peach (unnamed) daylilies, a tall purple/blue salvia (alsodon't know name) and rudbeckia "Goldsturm". They bloomed almost simultaneously and were stunning together.

• echinaceamaniac
    14 years ago