Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pickindaisies

Purple Balloon flowers - who has experience?

pickindaisies
11 years ago

A friend of mine planted "purple balloon flowers" last year and I love how the colors and the size of the plant are. I know nothing of them and was thinking of planting them as a perennial in an area that is part shade and has some pines nearby. Anyone that has any experience with these would be greatly appreciated!

Comments (18)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    11 years ago

I like them. Buy them as plants as they are very slow from seeds. Al

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

my experience with them in MI .. was that they were rather short lived ..

dont know where you are

ken

• a2zmom_Z6_NJ
    11 years ago

I've been growing 'Sentimental Blue' for many years. Here are some pics:

{{gwi:247048}}

{{gwi:247050}}

The plant is tap rooted so once established, it's no fuss. Taller varieties may need staking.

• mistascott
    11 years ago

Mine grow fine in part shade, but they need at least a half day of sun. They are late to emerge in Spring so be careful about digging near them. They also do not like wet feet so be sure the soil is nicely drained.

• LisaH
    11 years ago

The more sun they can get, the better. With too much shade they tend to get leggy and floppy. In sun they're a great perennial--bloom a long time and are hardly bothered by any pests (except rabbits seem to like them!)

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    11 years ago

I grew mine from seed (I don't remember them being particularly slow, though?) and they are in part sun. They can probably stand a tad more sun because a few of them do flop a bit, but I guess there's enough sun in my spot to make it doable (for me) - probably about 4 hours of sun.

I love them! I let mine go to seed and have gotten some volunteers.

Dee

• rusty_blackhaw
    11 years ago