Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marigold_mary

Foxgloves, are these ready to put outside?

marigold.mary
9 years ago

This are my 5-week old Foxgloves (Digitalis purpurea 'Alba') and it is just about August 1st. I am in zone 6b in New York, they have been growing on my windowsill. This is my first time as a 'gardener'.

Are these ready to put outside?

Thank you in advance.

/mm

Comments (9)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

in spring.. i would say pretty close ...

planting those babes outside in what is basically August.. might be very hard ...

i would pot them up.. and grow them out in full bright shade for august ...

and then plant them in the more forgiving fall ... warm days.. and cooler nights. ...

win or lose.. consider it a learning process.. whether you win or lose. ...

actually.... better idea... up pot half... plant out half.. and learn .... experiment ...

BTW... full bright shade is better than indoors ...

and dont forget to harden them off to sunlight.. before you plant them in sun ....

ken

• marigold.mary
    Original Author
    9 years ago

That is the great advice I needed, ken. Thank you very much!

• gardenweed_z6a
    9 years ago

First of all - welcome to the forum!

Ken is right. July/August are not the months to plant out tender seedlings. Yours are so healthy-looking, it would be a shame to plant them out now when they'll just be stressed by extreme heat even if there's plentiful rain.

Can you wait until September to plant them out?

They need a shot at establishing their root systems prior to blooming next year. Planting out when conditions moderate in September gives the plants a better chance of surviving the extreme cold in winter.

they have been growing on my windowsill