Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluebirdpeony

Terrified to Divide

BlueBirdPeony
10 years ago

Yes, I'm new at this. Yes, it's probably an irrational fear. Regardless, I desperately need to divide some Iris and some Day Lily. They are way too crowded.

1) When? I've heard fall.
2) How do I know where to dig? How far out around the base of the plant?
3) Won't I damage roots of other close plants?
4) Do I replant the tubers immediately in the fall? Or keep in the basement til spring?
5) How do I know how many or what size to put back in the original spot?
6) Does anyone want to come help me?!?!? Haha

Thanks, as always, for being patient with a new gardener.

Comments (16)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

DL are just coming into bloom.. why would you do it now ... fall or spring.. simply put the shovel in the middle of a clump.. and jump on it.. and move half... couldnt kill the thing if you put it in the driveway and ran it over a few times... you could probably do it right now.. and the plant will live.. but you will ruin the flower show ...

iris can be done now.. as they finished blooming ... the are surface planted.. ONLY the roots in the ground ... or in fall.. but not spring.. prior to bloom... [wait a minute.. is this a trick question.. what kind of iris???]

there is a pretty good iris forum.. and i am sure there is a DL forum.. if for some reason you dont believe me ...

terrified.. really???? .. gardening really isnt that dramatic ... lol ... and these are two pretty bulletproof plants to learn on ....

you ought to be able to get utube shows on both ....

ken

• trovesoftrilliums
    10 years ago

It's okay to be a bit terrified.