Return to the Perennials Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
help with plant selections

Posted by fairways 5B Wisconsin (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 28, 11 at 13:15

(Newbie here, not an experienced gardener, re-posted this from Design, will also post in Shrubs .... )
_ _ _ _
Recently had a planter area renovated, soil and drainage are ready for new perennial and possibly shrub plantings. I'd appreciate some recommendations for hardy, low maintenance species.
"L" shaped area along attached garage, entire house and garage is faced with limestone. The long leg of the "L" faces west, the short leg faces north, the area gets some direct sun but mostly partial shade. Planter beds are 4 feet deep.

Nearby plantings include snow on the mountain and bright yellow daylilies and daffodils. Prefer shades of green, bright yellow or white. No reds or oranges, blues might be okay. Would like at least one climbing planting along west facing stone wall. Prefer masses or layers of plantings versus smaller groupings or varied layouts.

Thanks so much.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: help with plant selections

ok newbie.. i gave you an answer in the other forum..

here is a different answer.. and how i did it ..

back in the day.. i went to every local nursery.. and bought one of everything that met the cultural requirements.. and planted them all ... [culture meaning shade plants for shade.. and sun for sun]

over the years.. they have come.. and they have gone.. and i have learned ....

your first mistake as a newbie.. as i read your post.. is that you think we can just throw out a garden design that will be pleasing to you.. and easy to work with .... and i dont think that is how it is done ...

just buy some stuff.. stick it the the ground.. and make it live...