Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karin_mt_2

Show us your stonework

karin_mt
10 years ago

We gardeners love rocks, don't we? They combine in so many lovely ways with plants. Formal cut stone, informal fieldstone, stone walls, stone paths, stone edgework. Lava rocks, mossy boulders, crisp stacked slate, so many personalities of the rocks themselves.

I could go on and on, waxing my love for rocks (I am a geologist, after all). But I won't, 'cause what we really want are the pictures!

So, show us your stonework! It's always intriguing to see what other folks are doing -- a virtual garden tour from the cool of the livingroom.

I'll start with just a few teasers:

{{gwi:252052}}
DH says "O.M.G. what have you done to the backyard"
Me: "Don't worry, it will look awesome in about 6 years. Trust me!"

{{gwi:252053}}

{{gwi:46684}}

{{gwi:46680}}

Comments (60)

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

sadly I have no stone walls to share. Its on my wish list but realistically will most likely never happen.

I hope this thread hits its limit, and gets continued, because I'm looking forward to seeing more!

Everyone's wall is wonderful, in its own way. Maybe it's just as well I can't put one in now, because I'd never be able to decide what I want, lol.

southcountryguy, your annual garden is great! I don't think anyone here gives a flying fig if it is an annual garden as opposed to a perennial one - we all love to see anything at all in bloom, and in this case, your stonework as well!

Please keep 'em coming! I'm living vicariously through you guys!

;)
    Dee

• franeli
    10 years ago

Nice photos!
    I'll have to search my iPhotos to see if I have pics that show my stone retention walls...

• SouthCountryGuy Zone 4b-5 SE BC
    10 years ago

Man, my first post didn't go through. Since lots of you don't have access to rocks I will show a few more pictures of how I use rocks for edging on other gardens.